No one escapes loss; it is a part of life. And, no one experiences grief in the same way. Why? Because it is unique to everyone and occurs in many ways – the loss of a loved one, employment, possessions, divorce, relocation, identity, a dream etc. Learning how to live through loss is not easy, but it is possible.

Kübler-Ross’s model explains five stages of grief as:

  • Denial, disbelief, numbness
  • Bartering, question why over and over – if I could have, would have, should have, then, perhaps
  • Anger at self, another person, place, or thing
  • Depression or sadness
  • Acceptance and adjustment

The feelings of grief return often, at different times with various levels of intensity. In the beginning, the experience feels like you are on a continuous emotional roller coaster ride – sometimes up, sometimes down, sometimes fast, sometimes slow – but take heart! At some point, this horrific ride called GRIEF will come to a turn of acceptance and you will adjust to a new sense of normal.

Worden’s Tasks of Mourning

Task 1: To accept the reality of the loss
Task 2: To work through the pain of grief
Task 3: To adjust to an environment in which the deceased is missing
Task 4: To find an enduring connection with the deceased while embarking on a new life

Grief support offers compassion and coping skills to help you through this painful journey.

To schedule your consultation, please contact josette@nextstepnewstart or call 561 372-8434.

My prayer is for you to find peace within your heart moment by moment.

Association for Death Education and Counseling